Disney Princess Half Marathon, Part 1: Preparing for the Half!

14 Mar

At the end of February, I was lucky to have the opportunity to participate in runDisney’s Princess Half Marathon. The second of the three half marathon’s that take place at Walt Disney World, the Princess Half Marathon is geared towards women and the opportunity for them to embrace their inner princess!

I hadn’t been sure if I’d be able to participate (and definitely hadn’t been training) but I found out I could run the week prior which was fantastic news!

Disney races are BIG on wearing costumes, so my first task that week was coming up with a costume. Despite being a huge Disney fan, I can’t say I have a favorite princess, so I opted to dress like Minnie Mouse! Priorities, right? 🙂

Through Pinterest, I was able to find a tutu tutorial and made a red tutu, only needing some tulle and elastic from the craft store to create it. I paired my tutu with black running capris, a red tank top and some sequined Minnie Mouse ears that I bought in the gift shop at the resort where the expo was held.

It was a quick creation, but it worked out pretty well! I tend to get easily annoyed by my running gear- the way my ear buds cord bounces, for example-  but surprisingly the tutu and  ears didn’t bug me at all! Maybe it was the adrenaline during the race? If I recylcle the costume in the future, I would make sure to find a red tech shirt, rather than the tank top I wore. All I had was a cotton tank, which wasn’t horrible but I know I could have been more comfortable. “Fashion” clearly won out though.

The race expo took place at Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort on the Friday and Saturday prior. Typically, the expo is held at the ESPN Wide World of Sports, but due to other events taking place there the expo took place at the convention center at Coronado Springs instead. The convention space seemed a little smaller than what would have been available at Wider World of Sports but since I got there when it opened on Friday, packet pick up was actually a breeze.

I was able to pick up the packets for both myself and my roommate, commemorative pins we had pre-ordered and our race shirts very quickly. I made my way through the official runDisney merchandise area, but decided against purchasing anything as the line was a tad long and I had to get to work. I do wish I had bought one of the 13.1 car magnets, though. I tried to get one after the run, but they were all sold out.

The busiest area at the expo by far, was at the New Balance booth. New Balance partnered with Disney to create limited edition Mickey and Minnie inspired sneakers, that are only sold at the runDisney race expos. You can view them here on the runDisney blog! They are a pretty fun offering and I’d love to see some more styles that pay homage to other characters!

 

While my trip to the expo was relatively quick, it was good experience for me. I did hear that the expo got pretty crowded later in the day and on Saturday. It was also challenging logistically as expo visitors had to take a shuttle to the resort in order to get to and from the expo due to limited parking at the resort so that seemed to get a bit rough for some visitors!

All that was left after the expo was work on Friday and Saturday, a  quick roommate fashion show to “model” our race day gear and some sleep!

Minnie's Ready!

Minnie’s Ready!

 

And just try and ignore the dog treat on my carpet aaannndd the size sticker still on my tank top!

Race recap coming soon!

 

 

6 Responses to “Disney Princess Half Marathon, Part 1: Preparing for the Half!”

  1. aftertheivyleague March 14, 2013 at 12:07 PM #

    Omg your Minnie outfit came out way too adorable! Can’t wait to see how the race went!

    • Steph @ Smiles Through Miles March 15, 2013 at 1:04 PM #

      Thanks! Disney races are definitely runs where the vast majority choose to dress up! I love seeing all the creative outfits people come up with!

  2. katydahle March 14, 2013 at 6:34 PM #

    I love the outfit!! Can you share where on Pinterest you found the tutu tutorial (it turned out SUPER cute)? I would love to make one for myself for Wine and Dine!

  3. Presley (@runpretty) March 14, 2013 at 8:35 PM #

    Best outfit ever.

    I want to run that race SO badly!

Leave a Reply

