Reindeer Run 2012

15 Dec

This morning it was time to participate in the Reindeer Run at SeaWorld Orlando! Presented by Track Shack, a local running store, it’s the first run that started my regular running habit!

I met my friend at SeaWorld at about 7:00AM for a 7:15AM start time. I had been planning to get their earlier, but traffic into the park was a bit crazy! Luckily, I still made it in time and found my friend a minute or two before the race start.

Ready to run!

Ready to run!

 

The race itself was a ton of fun. The course was the same as last year as far as I could tell. The first mile takes place all along the perimeter of SeaWorld’s parking lot, after that you head into the park and essentially make a loop through all main areas of the park. Along the way, there are some good views of the flamingos and dolphins. Lots of runners stop to take view the animals for a bit, but since I’m a passholder I kept running!

My favorite part of the run is running across a bridge through the middle of SeaWorld’s lagoon. It provides a pretty view of the park and some of the holiday decorations they have on the water!

Sea of Trees

Sea of Trees

It was a foggy morning, as you can see from this picture. The moisture in the air made the bridge and some of the other surfaces a little slippery. I tend to have a bad track record when it comes to walking on wet surfaces- lots of slips and falls- so I was a little nervous and tried to be super careful as I was running. The weather definitely could have been a bit better. It was cold for Florida, with temperatures in the low 60’s, but simultaneously pretty humid which wasn’t idea.

My friend and I ran separately for the most part, but she finished about 2 minutes after me, so it was a successful run for both of us. The race wasn’t timed but based on the finish line clock, I crossed the finish line in about 40:26. Going off of my Garmin, I finished in 38:59 but I started it a little late as I missed the start line signs!

One of the best things about this race is seeing how some of the runners dress up! There is a costume contest following the run, so people get pretty into it. There were tons or reindeer, elves and Santas! Mrs. Clause was there too! I don’t think I could handle running in some of the costumes I saw- they looked really hot! I even saw quite a few people running in flannel pajamas, which I could never do!

Once I met up with my friend, we headed to the post race party, grabbed some water, bananas and cookies, enjoyed viewing some of the wildlife SeaWorld had on display and took a few pictures!

Penguins!

Penguins!

 

 

A sea lion, my favorite!

A sea lion, my favorite!

 

 

We did it!

We did it!

 

All in all, it was a ton of fun. This race holds a special place in my heart and is a great time!

Thanks for a great run!

Thanks for a great run!

 

2 Responses to “Reindeer Run 2012”

  1. Suzanne December 16, 2012 at 2:18 PM #

    Sea lions are so cute! Glad you had a great time with the race.

Leave a Reply

