Random Running Inspiration

12 Dec

I tend to be a randomly emotional person. I tear up at the oddest things. Yes there are the typical triggers, like the movie Rent or books like Marley and Me.

Then there are the  Things like the trailer for the Katy Perry movie that came out a while ago, as a random example. Yes it’s somewhat of an inspirational underdog movie, however tears at a 30 second preview are a tad extreme, even for me.

Photo slideshows set to music  without fail will ALWAYS get me crying. It doesn’t even matter if I know the people featured or not.

With that being said, I am easily inspired by a good motivational quote. Especially when it comes to running, exercising and just being active in general. Here are a couple examples of quotes that have gotten me off the couch and out the door for a run in the past.

“Running is the greatest metaphor for life, because you get out of it what you put into it.”
-Oprah Winfrey

“The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.”
-John Bingham

 “Life is short… running makes it seem longer.”
– Baron Hansen

When I recently completed my first half marathon, I loved all the signs along the way. OUC, the race sponsor, had some staked in the ground along the course and there were plenty of funny homemade signs as well. Some of the signs did cause impromptu (happy) tears along the way!

I didn’t take any pictures along the course and have a horrible memory, but a few of the funny and motivation ones that I can remember include the following.

Sweat is fat crying.

Run faster! Your husband just found the credit card bill!

Worst. Parade. Ever.

You’re not slow, you’re just enjoying the course.

Go, Random Stranger, Go!

No one made you do this!

Trust your training
The best motivation that I’ve seen before was the shirt of a fellow runner. On the back it said, “You just got passed by an 83 year old’!

I’ve seen this woman at several local races-often when she is passing me. The shirt is very funny, but this lady’s commitment to running and her overall fitness level at the age of 83  is incredibly inspiring.  It’s always great to see her at these events-even when she is making her way past me :).

I love a little motivation-pre-run and during!

2 Responses to “Random Running Inspiration”

  1. danielle December 12, 2012 at 7:21 PM #

    Haha I cry all the time 🙂 my husband made a “worst parade ever” sign at one of my marathons this summer… It was an 8 loop course so he kept seeing the same people haha. thought it was cute.

    • Steph @ Smiles Through Miles December 12, 2012 at 9:58 PM #

      Always good to know I’m not the only one! I loved the parade sign. Definitely good for a chuckle- or eight in your case!

Leave a Reply

