2nd Annual Ice! Excursion

8 Dec

Continuing with the holiday festivities for the month of December, my friends and I crossed another holiday activity off our list- a visit to Ice! at Gaylord Palms, a beautiful Orlando area hotel.

Ice! is a winter extravaganza held in the convention area of Gaylord Palms, featuring incredible ice sculptures celebrating the holiday season. My friends an I had attended last year and the sculptures were all themed towards the holiday television special Shrek the Halls. This year it was themed towards Merry Madagascar!

Merry Madagascar!

Merry Madagascar!

As always, the ice sculptures are truly amazing! Over 2 million pounds of ice are use throughout the display. I enjoy seeing the characters from the Madagascar movie and television special in ice form. It makes me appreciate the detail and how well they can duplicate the characters’ likenesses.

The Cast of Characters

The Cast of Characters

Here are some of the ice sculpture highlights:

The Wonder of Ice!

The Wonder of Ice!

As much as I love all the sculptures, my number one favorite thing about Ice! is the ice slide they create! Last year, I probably went down the slide as much as some of the little kids at the experience! The main motivation this year was to get a sweet picture sliding down the ice. Unfortunately, that didn’t go quite as I hoped.

Last year, I had used one of the loaner coats that Ice! offers, but this year I chose to wear my own coat which greatly affected my sliding ability! Since I was wearing jeans, I didn’t slide very well at all and basically had to shimmy and push my way down the ice. It was still fun and definitely very funny as well! I tried to have my friend take some photos of me pretending to whiz down the slide at fast speeds, but I think it was a no go.

Slide Fail

Slide Fail

My friends had put me on “slide probation”  because I’ve still been dealing with some hip pain and they didn’t want me to keep pushing myself down the slide with the potential of irritating my hip. As a result, I called it quits on the slide after one turn. After that we had some fun taking more pictures throughout the different scenes- including impersonating some of the characters!

Pretty Good, Right?

Pretty Good, Right?

That little boy in my picture definitely approves!

After the colorful Madagascar scenes, Ice! ends with a more traditional holiday scene, an impressive nativity display. Much more simple, but equally spectacular.

'Tis the Season

‘Tis the Season

All in all, another great holiday centered evening with friends! Looking forward to more holiday fun next week!

Leave a Reply

